Thalassemia Types

Home > Cancer types >Blood Cancer > Thalassemia

Types of Thalassemia

There are two major types of Thalassemia:

  1. Alpha Thalassemia and
  2. Beta Thalassemia

Alpha Thalassemia

This condition results when enough alpha proteins are not produced by hemoglobin in the body. To make Alpha protein body needs four genes (two on each chromosome 16) and if one or more of these genes are missing or changed (mutated), it may result in Alpha thalassemia.

Beta Thalassemia

Beta thalassemia occurs when a gene or genes related to the beta globin protein are missing or changed (mutated).

Book an Appointment